Free Greek Lessons

Hellenic American Union offers free podcastsin conversational Greek. You can subscribe online at its web site and also download printed material to augment each audio lesson. This is not for beginners but for those who already have at least a rudimentary understanding of the language. It’s perfect for someone like myself who learned the language at home as a child and wishes to raise his/her speaking level. Or for anyone who’s already completed a year of study and wants to brush up on they’re Greek.

I found the podcasts a few years ago on iTunes, subscribed to all 80 short lessons I later burned onto a DVD I was able to play on my laptop or a music system that plays mp3s. I learned how to say the more polite I would like rather than the cruder I want. Also how to make an appointment as well as how to make a reservation. The former useful when calling a doctor’s office. The latter handy for booking a restaurant table or making travel arrangements.

Xenophon

I learned the word for moving from one residence to another. It isn’t something that comes up in conversation every day but people do change apartments or houses. I was glad to know what they’re talking about.

For those who prefer a more traditional classroom situation the Hellenic American Union conducts both intermediate and advanced classes in Athens, Greece for anyone over 16 years of age, along with cultural excursions to various museums in the city for its students.

copyright © 2012 by N. A. Diaman, all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

